How Extracurricular Got Me An Offer

It was at a very young age that I decided I wanted to become a geophysicist, and all my GCSE and A Level choices reflected that goal. Though I had (and still have) a passion for writing and performing arts, sciences and geography had to be my main focus, especially when it came down to A Level subjects.

So, when I decided last Christmas I wanted to drop the geophysics course I had started in the September and join a journalism course in the following year, there weren’t a lot of options available. A lot of courses wanted English or Media A levels, I had two sciences, maths, and geography. Many courses didn’t, but I was unlikely to get the place on the course over someone who had more experience in the field than I did.

Which is how extracurricular activities saved me.

When I was twelve I made the discovery that universities liked it when you were in clubs. I then decided to join a lot of clubs: science club, drama club, the steel pan band, the school eco council, student librarian…

When I got to university, studying Geophysics, I carried on this passion for extracurricular activities, joining societies and working on other opportunities I was offered (specifically, a website following the FIA Formula E series).

And when it came to applying to study journalism, these things were all put in my personal statement. It was the website and performing experience from drama club that were talked about when I was at the interview for the place I eventually ended up accepting. It was these things that got me the offers and onto the course I wanted.

Leave a comment